How NOT to waste your summer

How NOT to waste your summer

by @priscilladupreez on Unsplash

Summer has started long time ago, but this won’t stop me from putting together some ideas on how to make my summer more productive. Now I won’t be sharing particular external links, but will give a general idea on how to formulate your hobbies, side-projects, etc.

I am a life-long learner. And so are you, I presume. You always look for interesting book titles, courses to take on your free time, new skills to learn. So basically, you are not afraid to leave your comfort-zone to discover the unknown. For some of us, summers tend to offer more free time. So here are some the new things you can get started on that you always wanted to dive into.

  1. Learn coding
    I am going to be subjective with this statement, because I started to learn coding a few months ago myself. This learning path has challenged me intellectually and brought me a lot of joy. For the first time, I dived into “science-y/techie” part of things in my life and was so happy to find something that I love. Don’t wait for a big internship/job offer, don’t wait for someone to contact you with a job offer. Make stuff! Build 30 websites in 30 days, learn a new programming language, create a simple app or a game. Get your hands dirty to gain more practice. Also, brainstorm on a side-project that will benefit your community. Or a family member. It doesn’t have to be on a big community level. For instance, I am mapping out ideas on how to apply data science tools to my Master’s thesis from 2 years ago, which focused on think-tanks and policy making process.
  2. Take an online class
    There is a plethora of free online classes. Anything you want to learn! It doesn’t have to coding related at all. How about nature drawing? Or learning about human rights and refugees? Or educating yourself on the current state of climate change debates? How about math, history, statistics or even self-driving car course? I really found EdX platform a really great way to enrich my curiosity outside of school. I never took those classes to seek monetary benefit, but only because I was genuinely broadening my horizons.
  3. Learn a new human language (or two)
    I grew up tri-lingual. As an adult I learned a number of other foreign languages. This was something I excelled at. When I learn a new language my brain really becomes focused, distractions are no longer a threat to me and I overall enjoy the process, even if I have to learn solo. If you don’t know what to pick, choose a language that might benefit your current or future career. Or pick a random language that you never gave much thought to. The best app I used for language learning is Mango. It focuses a lot on spoken expressions, separate words, and pronunciation. Listen to YouTube videos in that language, read children’s books, and practice every day.
  4. Learn a new life skill (or just a skill)
    Las year my husband bought me an Instant Pot (a type of a pressure cooker). Before that I was not much into cooking and ate whatever was in the fridge. Getting this new piece of equipment was really motivating for me to learn to cook, discover nutrition, healthy eating habits, meal-prepping, and eventually working out more often. Sure, your foray into cooking doesn’t have to cost you $100, you can start with simple recipes and see where that takes you. Another great skill I learned is driving. I have even ventured out to downtown Indianapolis on my own. It scary and surreal. Learn something that you never thought you would be able to do. If you have time, pick the nearest volunteer organization and give your free time. By volunteering you are not just doing a selfless deed but also networking and building leadership/organization/communication skills.
  5. Self-development (mental or physical)
    This one is so important but so underrated. Self-development can manifest through different activities, and most of the time you don’t even have to spend a dollar to fulfill that goal. I will actually share my self-development goals for this summer:

a. Start a fitness program
I always liked Beachbody programs that you can do at home. Most of the programs don’t even require fitness equipment. All you need is your own body and a great mindset. I have completed a few programs that helped me through many difficult times.
b. Start running
I want to start running. Like seriously. Not just a mile here and there, but set monthly goals of completing colossal number of miles
c. Make a list of books to read (and read them)
With a job and school classes, I never want to open another book to read. So my summer allows me to read any titles that I find interesting. Looking for inspiration? Check out a reading list at your local library or just search online.
d. Form a healthy habit (like quitting soda)
Okay, so I don’t drink soda at all. But I do have a goal to wake up at 6 am every day. It hasn’t been successful so far, so I am working on it. What have you wanted to do for a long time? Maybe work out 5 times a week, hang out with friends once a week, or clean your dishes after each meal? Form those habits this summer then.

Lastly, you don’t have to wait for summer to get started on those new activities/habits. You don’t even have to wait for free time to open up. Make time, not excuses! I hope my ideas were helpful to you in generating your own idea map. If not, always feel free to refer to mine.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Shahlo Seidmedova by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!