How I got my driver’s license at the age of 27

How I got my driver’s license at the age of 27

by chuttersnap from Unsplash

Last week, on June 11, I drove from Indianapolis to Bloomington, where I go to school. I had a few nervous moments the night before and in the morning. I was so sure that I was not ready to drive on my own yet, although I already got my driver’s license around a month ago. As I got in the car in the morning, I kept talking and singing to myself all the way. An hour later I was parked by my apartment and was bursting with excitement at that time.

I started learning about a year ago in the nearby stadium parking lot. Since everyone had left home for the summer break, I had a giant parking lot to myself to practice. I would make circles around and just practice parking. Then one evening I gathered enough courage to cross the street into the neighboring parking lot, and when I tried to return back I came to a stop sign simultaneously with another car to my left. I froze. My boyfriend had to wave the other person to go because I just sat there motionless and wide-eyed. I was sure back then that driving will never happen to me.

A few weeks later I had a spurt of courage. This time I decided that in order to overcome my fear of driving, I need to drive. I drove myself and my boyfriend to my campus library. Once I got there, I could not stop shaking and even briefly asked him to switch. He was very understanding and agreed. However, I decided to make the drive back home too. It was only a mile.

I took 3 lessons with a driving instructor. It really helped me get on the big roads. My instructor gave me a lot of non-technical advice, such as how to deal with people’s road rage. I thought I was ready for a road test, so I went to take it. And as expected, I failed my first road test. Being able to operate a vehicle is completely different from being able to drive alongside other cars. That’s the lesson I learned from the first failed test. My second test happened 9 months later. At that point I was ready. However, I did not pass again. This time it was not a failure of my driving skills, but it was a failure of my listening skills. I went over the speed limit and that’s an automatic fail, at least in the state of Indiana. I was really bummed this time.

I took 3 more lesson with my driving instructor, and took the test with him this time, instead of BMV. I passed! It was kind of anti-climatic to be honest. I had been driving a lot by then and even my instructor made positive comments on my improved skills. I went from a terrified anxious mess of a student driver to a, well, less terrified driver with a license. My learning adventure is only starting, but I am not going to balk at taking new chances. Here are a few lessons that kept my anxiety in check:

  1. If I keep worrying about other drivers’ needs, I will never get on the road and actually drive.
  2. The road is for everyone. I have the same amount of rights to use it as any other seasoned driver.
  3. If I want to drive the exact speed limit, you cannot pressure me into going faster just because you are in a hurry.

I might be met with a lot of disagreement on the above points, but they helped me keep my calm throughout my learning. My only regret is I wish I started early. Time will go by no matter what, so I might as well learn a new skill. The importance of this skills stems from the fact that women drivers are socially frowned upon back home in Turkmenistan and have hard time obtaining a license. So this is not just a personal victory for me, but also a cultural resistance, if you will.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Shahlo Seidmedova by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!